The Pulpit Speaks: July 26, 1958

pulpit.jpgAn article written by my father, the Rev. C. Thomas Paige, as it appeared in the Tri-State Defender on the date shown.

A few days ago, I saw a little girl – her face, arms and knees already covered with scars – crawl upon one of those 1958 scooters so prevalent on our streets today. At first, the girl showed some evidence of being rather afraid and having little confidence in her brother. With these scars so evident, and, no doubt, with the pain associated with them, there was enough to make this young lady rather skeptical about climbing on this scooter again.

But her little four-year-old brother assured her that she need have no fear, and soon a big smile came on her face as she left her destiny in the hands of this little boy and crawled aboard. The last time I saw her, she was going down the sidewalk with her little brother pushing her.

As I looked at this wonderful picture of faith I recalled how much like every day life was this story. Many of us, day after day, are called upon to sacrifice, toil, be scarred and the like, for the cause of the good life but we always find ourselves climbing back on the proverbial scooter, placing our all in the hands of God and believing or having faith that He will do that which is best for all of us. Sometimes, like this girl, we are skeptical about venturing into new experiences.

I could stand on the sidewalk and see that little four-year-old boy losing control of his scooter and his sister being killed by a passing car. But this was one of the most remote thoughts in the little girl’s mind. She thought only of her wonderful ride and her strong little brother.

I wonder if we do not need a child-like faith today. As I wonder about this world, one thing impresses me: the desire on the part of people to venture out. Nine out of ten people you meet today only want to go as far as they can see. Moving into the unknown is one of the least desirable things in most people’s minds. Today, our world is in dire need of those pioneer minds that are willing to venture out. Faith is the pivotal point around which all else moves.

Paul says “Without faith it is impossible to please him.” Without that pioneering spirit that urges a man to go out and venture into the unpopular, man is not going to be able to do very much in terms of a worthy contribution.

Speaking of faith, I am reminded of a poem my pastor at home recited one morning after his sermon. It has always been meaningful to me, and I would like to share it with you:

Jesus, these eyes have never seen that radiant form of thine. The veil of sense hangs dark between Thy blessed face and mine. I see Thee not, I hear Thee not, yet Thou art oft with me;

And earth holds ne’er so dear a spot as where I met Thee. Yet, though I have not seen and still must rest in faith alone, I love Thee, dearest Lord, and will, unseen but not unknown.

— Palmer

We must move from this area of believing only in those things that we see. Faith presupposes that man moves into the densest darkness believing that some unknown force – or maybe some known force – will give him the protection that is needed for the occasion.

As we go through life, it will be most unmeaningful if there are not some propelling force that keeps us going even when the strongest reaction we have is that one to quit in this world of darkness, despair and the unpredictable happening. We need a faith that will give us new guidance to our feet, our heads and our hearts. Only when and if this is realized will life be worthwhile to any of us.

7 thoughts on “The Pulpit Speaks: July 26, 1958

  1. Vivian, I really enjoy these inspirational postings. Thank you. This one reminds me of the “this little light of mine” gospel song. We have faith that we serve and have hope that it advances the goal that Jesus laid before us. I like to think that all those that came before are standing near rooting for our success – because we are their hand in the physical world. Perhaps they even envy our opportunity. We should treat that opportunity with more reverence.

  2. I’m glad you like them šŸ˜‰ I have my own ideas about what he was trying to say, especially given the time frame and what was going on in the world. But it is always interesting to look back almost 50 years and see how applicable these writings are today.

  3. You really are a preacher’s daughter, right? However, some don’t get back on that scooter, and all is right with the world, or at least, the world is as it should be, don’t you think? No matter what turn one takes, or doesn’t take, the world is exactly as it should be, because it’s all a plan, or so I’ve heard.

  4. If you consider the time and location (Memphis TN) of the writing, I think these writings were code for encouraging people to participate in the burgeoning civil rights movement.

    Of course, I could be reading too much into this.

  5. JoAnne ~as this is how I know you, This article really touched my heart. It is just amazing how The Word written in 1958 still stands true today. If you have anymore of Daddy’s writings please share some with me.
    Love to the family! Your Oldest Sister

  6. Thanks Vivien for sharing these personal and poignant peices from your father with us. The visual he painted was a powerful one that makes so ‘much needed’ sense . The every day struggles and the courage to set aside fear for what is truly ours; the IDEA of freedom and happiness. Yep, Memphis then, America now….we need words like his to remind us that we are given destiny AND free will, our choices paint the picture of our lives. Keep scootin’….Roxie

Comments are closed.