Hand to hand combat with a ‘possum

Having wild animals around when you live in the country is a given. We have done battle with one or more each of racoons, ‘possums, and groundhogs. The groundhogs especially are bad for the garden.

In the process of growing lots of tomatoes every year, a ripening table is set up on the deck. Here is where we deposit tomatoes that could stand another day in the sun. At various times, there were as many as 70-80 tomatoes on the table this summer.

A few weeks ago I was standing on the deck, and I heard a faint chomping noise. As I looked around, I saw a ‘possum with his feet on the table, eating tomatoes like there was no tomorrow. I was no more than 3 feet away at this point. The overgrown rat with white fur looked at me and kept eating.

Something snapped in me. I hauled off and smacked it in the head with my open hand. I swung again and missed. The animal started moving at this point, scampering off down the stairs. I chased it as it went, trying to hit it some more.

I was surprised at myself. My hand hurt.

Of course, the ‘possum and the other animals will continue to eat the produce, marching right up and helping themselves. This is part of the cool things you get while living in the country.

10 thoughts on “Hand to hand combat with a ‘possum

  1. I grew up in the mountains in NC. Lots of critters everywhere. The old timers always said if you see a possum out during the day stay away from it because it is sick. I guess Rabies or something don’t really know but I would not go around trying to smack it in the head. I stay away from them anyway they freak me out.

  2. I don’t live in the country but I’ve encountered possum here in Norfolk. In fact, I see them almost every night. Only rarely during the day – and I’ve heard that old tale about seeing possums or raccoons during the day, too. I don’t believe it, though. Sometimes, they come out during the day simply because the competition for food at night is too great.

    I opened my garden shed one day and a possum was in the back corner. I think he was as scared of me as I was of him šŸ™‚

    1. When we would go camping in Northern California, there were boxes built onto the tables to hold food or whatever. A raccoon was able to eat most of a loaf of bread through a one inch crack between doors.

      Raccoons are very smart, and agile. I don’t see them out here very often. I know they are here though. They turn my trash over on a regular basis.

Comments are closed.