2014 May elections

elections_promo_ivote_75x75.gifThe filing deadline for this May’s local elections was last week. In Hampton Roads, we have elections in Norfolk, Chesapeake, Hampton and Newport News. The elections will be held May 6.

As I compiled the list (below) of the candidates, I was pleased to see that only a few races are uncontested (although there are fewer candidates overall than four years ago). That’s democracy in action, folks: people putting themselves out there to serve their communities. And one of the newcomers happens to be a student of mine. Curtis Bethany III is running for School Board in Newport News. I just love to see young people getting involved in our political process.

Note that Hampton has two special elections, the result of former Mayor Molly Ward having resigned. George Wallace was appointed to replace her and is running to complete the rest of her term. In addition, that opens up his seat.

One other note: this is the last time Norfolk elects its mayor along with the five small wards. This mayoral term is just for two years. The next mayoral election will be in 2016 and will coincide with the election of the two superwards.

But the candidates are just one part of things. Next, we have to do our part. Help them be successful by contributing time and/or money. And, of course, show up to vote on May 6th.

* – incumbent

Norfolk City Council
Mayor Ward 3 Ward 4 Ward 5
Jane Bethel William Collins Jr G W “Billy” Cook Jr James Driggers
Paul Fraim* Mamie Johnson Paul Riddick* Tommy Smigiel Jr*
Michael Muhammad Glen Jones Sr
Rodney Jordan
Marcus Powell
Lionell Spruill Jr
Ward 1 Ward 2
Andy Protogyrou* Theresa Whibley*
Chesapeake City Council Chesapeake School Board
(5 seats available) (5 seats available)
Brian Collins Suzy Kelly* Michael David Brown Coleen Leary
Lonnie Craig* Burnie Mansfied Jr Wilford Clark Jr Harry Murphy*
Roland Davis Jr Jason Morris Christie Craig* Les Smith Jr
John de Triquet* Ella Ward* Kimberly Hobbs Jouis Tayon Jr
Brenda Johnson Michael Woods*
Hampton City Council Hampton School Board
Mayor (special election) Council Hampton Rds Distr, Seat A
Frank Ottofaro Jr (3 seats available) Special election Jennifer Phillips*
George Wallace* Gaynette “Gay” LaRue Edwin Boone Jason Samuels
Will Moffett* Linda Curtis*
James Neider Hampton Rds Distr, Seat B
Thomas “Tom” Rokicak Linwood “Butch” Harper*
Teresa Schmidt
Ryan Taylor-Fontes Chesapeake Distr, Seat A
Donnie Tuck* David Dietrich
Joseph Kilgore*
Newport News City Council
Mayor South District, Seat B North District, Seat B Central District, Seat B
McKinley Price* Sheryl Abbott Marcellus Harris III Herbert Bateman Jr*
Saundra Cherry Sharon Scott*
Cleveland Mabry Keven Underwood
Pete Newman
Teusha Vick
Newport News School Board
At Large South District North District Central District
Curtis Bethany III Carlton Ashby* Douglas Brown Betty Dixon
Gary Hunter Pricilla Burnett* T Jeff Stodghill*
Rick Jones Jr.

14 thoughts on “2014 May elections

  1. I have for years thought people care less and less about local elections. I was so happy to see so many people running in Hampton and in Newport News. The odd thing is the low number of debates over on the peninsula this time. I hope people will go out and hear the candidates. You are correct there are a couple races where younger people are running which is a good thing. I would want the elected body to represent as many of the actual citizens as possible.

Comments are closed.