June 13th primary candidates

In just under a month, Virginia voters will head to the polls to select party nominees for various offices. As has been the case in recent years, when you go to the polls, you’ll have to choose either a Democratic or Republican ballot. You can’t vote in both primaries. I mentioned the names of the candidates on each side running statewide in my last post – and you’ve probably heard enough about all of them, anyway 🙂

Let’s look at the nominating contests for the Hampton Roads delegation to the Virginia House of Delegates. This list is current as of 5/12/17:

District 21 Thomas Brock Bill Haley
Kelly Fowler Ron Villanueva*
District 64 (open) Jerry Cantrell Rex Alphin
Rebecca Colaw Emily Brewer
John Wandling
District 81 Nancy Carothers
Kimberly Ann Tucker
District 83 Justin Morgan
David Rose-Carmack
District 84 Veronica Coleman
Dem Conv 5/20 Erin Edlow
District 89 (open) Joe Dillard Jr.
Jay Jones
District 92 Mic Harris
Jeion Ward*

* = incumbent

As noted, the Democratic nominee in the 84th district will be chosen at a convention on 5/20. Note also that Justin Morgan, a candidate in the 83rd, has officially withdrawn from the race but did not do so before the ballots were printed. As the result, his name will appear. You can find links to the website, Facebook page and/or Twitter accounts of the Democratic candidates here.

Regarding the above contests, as of this writing:

  • There are Republican incumbents in districts 81 (Barry Knight), 83 (Chris Stolle) and 84 (Glenn Davis).
  • The winner of the primary in the 89th will face a third-party challenger (Terry Hurst)
  • The winner of the District 92 Democratic nomination has no opposition.

Once we get past June 13th, the full slate of candidates will be known. Right now, incumbents in eight Hampton Roads districts (77, 82, 85, 91, 93, 94, 96, and 100)  have opposition, while six districts (76, 78, 79, 80, 90, and 95) have incumbents who are unopposed. Keep in mind that independent candidates have until 7pm on June 13th to file.

Some important dates to remember:

  • May 22: Deadline to register to vote
  • June 6: Deadline to request an absentee ballot by mail
  • June 10: Deadline for voting absentee in person


4 thoughts on “June 13th primary candidates

  1. I am bothered that the meet the candidates site from the Democratic Party does not have District 92nd listed with Micheal Harris and Delegate Jeion Ward. I don’t understand why they would not list all the candidates on the ballot running as Democrats. Am I missing something?

Comments are closed.